Master in European Studies

Your next step towards a career in European leadership

The focus of the Master’s Degree in European Studies at the International Graduate Center of the Bremen University of Applied Sciences is politics, the economy, law and administration of Europe. You will gain a deeper understanding of the key challenges that the European Union and its member states as well as international partners have to face in those areas. Our program offers you a comprehensive and up-to-date study of the economic and political developments in the public sector and in the private economy, thus qualifying you to work in the Foreign service, the public sector of the member states or partner states of the EU or in the private economy.

Your benefits

  • Close contact with EU representatives
  • Intensive seminar in Brussels
  • Participation in program "Meet the Europeans" in Bremen
  • International network

Requirements

  • First degree in Public Policy/ Management, Economics or Business, Political Sciences or Law
  • Minimum of 210 ECTS points
  • High English proficiency
  • At least one year of work experience

Career prospects

  • Political consulting
  • Economic and legal adviser
  • Political offices and functions in the diplomatic service
  • Banks and organizations with European partners
  • Academic career

Key Facts - Master in European Studies

Degree icon
Degree
Master of Arts
Degree - Master of Arts

Upon completion of this postgraduate management degree, you will earn your Master’s in Arts. You will have high order skills in analysis and critical evaluation. The IGC encourages students to solve complex problems and think independently. You need to hold an undergraduate degree in order to receive admission.

Language icon
Language
English
Language - English

As the language of education is English, very good English knowledge is required. Please be advised that while it is possible to complete your degree without any German language knowledge, most local jobs will require German skills. For this reason, if you plan to work in Germany following your studies, we recommend that you take advantage of our free German courses.

Calendar icon
Start
October
Start - October

The program begins in the winter semester. The introductory events and courses start at the beginning of October and run until mid-February, so make sure to plan accordingly. The summer semester begins after a short break in March. Starting in May, you can use the lecture-free period to work on your master’s thesis.

Duration & Type
2 semesters / full-time
Duration & Type - 2 semesters / full-time

You can complete your studies in two semesters as a full-time student.

Accreditation icon
Accreditation
AQAS
Accreditation - AQAS

Accreditation of our degree programs is very important to us. For this reason, we regularly have our programs reviewed for quality by independent external agencies. The MBA in European/Asian Management is accredited by the agency AQAS (Agentur für Qualitätssicherung durch Akkreditierung von Studiengängen e.V.). Since 2002, this agency has accredited most of the study programs at public universities in Germany.

Class icon
Group size
About 25 students
Group size - About 25 students

Our classes take place in small groups of about 25 students. This gives you the opportunity to maintain close contact with teachers and lecturers and facilitates cooperation and intercultural exchange among fellow-students.

Tuition icon
Tuition fee
7,900 Euro
Tuition fee - 7,900 Euro

The tuition fee is 7,900 euros for the entire course, plus an additional semester fee of roughly 350 euros per semester (as of 08/2018). The semester fee covers your student ticket that entitles you to free public transportation in Bremen, as well as to Lower Saxony and Hamburg. To learn more about financing your studies or arranging a personalized payment plan, see the menu item Support.

Deadline icon
Application deadline
August 31st
Application deadline - August 31st

The application deadline for the academic year starting October 2019 is August 31 of the same year. Application submission is possible online only using our application tool. We look forward to receiving your application, even if you don’t yet have all of your documents available to you. Please note that you might need a visa for your studies in Germany.  

Program description - Master in European Studies

Intensive preparation for your career in or with regards to the EU

The Master's Program European Studies at the International Graduate Center is a practice-oriented postgraduate course. You will take courses in private and public management, law, economics and politics – always in terms of the European Union. After the introductory weeks at the IGC we will have a study visit to Brussels where you will get to know the EU institutions as well as the interacting public and private enterprises and organizations. This study visit is organized collectively with our partner institutions from Riga and Western Switzerland.

To help you prepare for your diplomatic career or a career in a EU institution, government or administration in one of the member states, partner states or in companies, you will have the opportunity to participate in a development program or take course in intercultural management, group processes or personal skills training. The career opportunities of graduates of the Master’s Degree in European Studies range from executive positions in the private and public sectors to lobby activities and political posts.

  • In addition to having first-class lecturers with an international background, enrolling in the MES program offers students a sound knowledge of European matters.“

    Rubisel Velázquez
    Origin: Mexico
     

  • I enjoyed the international experience, I learnt how to work in intercultural teams and I improved my English.“

    Denise Schroten
    Origin: Germany

  • The knowledge and expertise acquired through the Master has provided me with a sound basis for collaborating in any private or public institution.“

    Marisol Oropeza
    Origin: Mexico

  • I developed the skills of critical thinking, scientific questioning and independent work, applied on a diverse range of topics in European context.“

    Murat Serdaroglu
    Origin: Turkey

  • Studying MES at HS-Bremen was a magnificent opportunity for me to expand my vision.“

    Saadia Khatoon
    Origin: Pakistan

  • I have gained a general overview of the EU trading and business regulations and also improved my personal presentation skills and team work ability.“

    Yuzhu Zhao
    Origin: China

     

  • MES helped me to discover the areas I would like to be involved in the future. Now I am an active lobbyist based in Brussels.“

    Symeon Christofyllidis
    Origin: Greece

  • MES Program at Hochschule Bremen provided me an interdisciplinary knowledge which is an advantage for my career as (junior) lecturer.“

    Irwan Iskandar
    Origin: Indonesia

Contact - Program Coordinator

Since 1999, the Master in European Studies Program has been preparing students for leadership roles in the private and public sector. Small intercultural groups allow individual treatment and close contacts to our international lecturers and staff. Join our international student body and benefit from our long experience.

Photo Prof. Dr. Christiane Trüe
Prof. Dr. Christiane Trüe
Head of Degree Program

Some pictures from our students during an excursion to Brussels, Belgium

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

International Student Assistance

Our International Student Assistance (ISA) assists you in different aspects of settling in: finding accommodation, handling visa applications, clarifing insurance queries and dealing with authorities both at home and abroad. This service is of course free of charge. Furthermore ISA regularly organizes excursions and events during your study in Bremen. They offer movie nights, sightseeing trips, a christmas party, BBQ and excursions to several cities.

  • International Student Assistance
    World-wide support - from the start
    We support you thoroughly - from the application to the career planning after your studies
  • In five steps
    Ready to apply?
    Your next step in your career - apply for your degree and studies in Bremen
  • Referred by a friend
    Do you know an alumni?
    Do you know someone who studied with us? Then get invited and receive a reduction on your tuition costs.
    Get recommended
  • Get your degree during 50+ weekends
    Study next to your job
    Give your career a boost - next to your job, on weekends and in intensive blocks
  • MBA & Master
    Course overview
    Full-time programs at International Graduate Center - overview of what you can study and what you need for it
  • What others said about their studies
    Our rating
    Sounds interesting? Read more, how our alumni look back at the time in Bremen
  • Your career continues
    Your job after your studies
    Career planning, job search and application - we are at your side

Master in European Studies

Europäische Wirtschaft in einem interdisziplinären Programm studieren

Im Fokus des Masters in European Studies am International Graduate Center stehen Politik, Wirtschaft, Recht und Verwaltung Europas. Dabei erlangen Sie ein tiefes Verständnis der zentralen Herausforderungen, denen sich die Europäische Union und ihre Mitgliedstaaten sowie ihre internationalen Partner in diesen Bereichen stellen müssen. Das Programm bietet Ihnen ein umfassendes und aktuelles Studium der rechtlichen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Entwicklungen im öffentlichen Sektor und in der Privatwirtschaft und bereitet Sie auf die Arbeit in europäischen Institutionen, im diplomatischen Dienst, im öffentlichen Sektor von Mitgliedstaaten oder Partnerstaaten der EU oder in der Privatwirtschaft vor.

Vorteile

  • Praxisnahes Masterprogramm
  • Enger Kontakt zu EU Vertretern
  • Intensives Seminar in Brüssel
  • Programm "Meet the Europeans"
  • Internationales Netzwerk
  • Berlinfahrt (optional)
  • Deutschkurs (optional)
  • ISA-Team (International Student Assistance) vor Ort

Voraussetzungen

  • Einen ersten Abschluss in BWL, VWL, Politik, öffentlichem Recht, o.Ä.
  • Bachelorabschluss mit 210 ECTS
  • Ausgezeichnete Englischkenntnisse (B2 oder IELTS 6,0)
  • Mind. ein Jahr Berufserfahrung nach dem Studium
  • Finanzielle Mittel für Studiengebühr und Lebenshaltungskosten von ~17.000 Euro

Karrieremöglichkeiten

  • EU Institutionen 
  • Internationale Organisationen/NGOs
  • Öffentlicher Dienst/Auswärtiger Dienst
  • Management- oder Consultingtätigkeiten
  • Akademische Laufbahn

Key Facts - Master in European Studies

Degree icon
Abschluss
Master of Arts
Abschluss - Master of Arts

Der Master of Arts ist ein akademischer Grad welcher am Ende eines weiterbildenden Studiums verliehen wird. Voraussetzung für den Beginn eines weiterbildenden Masterstudiums ist der Bachelorabschluss. Das Masterstudium am International Graduate Center der Hochschule Bremen garantiert Ihnen ein hohes Niveau in den Bereichen wissenschaftliches Arbeiten sowie Praxisorientierung. Der Abschluss ist berufsqualifizierend und berechtigt Sie zur anschließenden Promotion.  

Language icon
Unterrichtssprache
Englisch
Unterrichtssprache - Englisch

Der Unterricht findet komplett in englischer Sprache statt. Sehr gute Englischkenntnisse sind von daher Voraussetzung.  Es ist Ihnen möglich, das Studium ohne Deutschkenntnisse zu absolvieren. Wenn Sie im Anschluss an Ihr Studium allerdings gern in Deutschland arbeiten möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen den Besuch unserer kostenlos angebotenen Deutschkurse.

Calendar icon
Beginn
Oktober
Beginn - Oktober

Das Programm beginnt jeweils zum Wintersemester. Die Einführungsveranstaltungen, sowie die Lehrveranstaltungen beginnen Anfang Oktober und gehen bis Mitte Februar. Sie sollten Ihre Anreise somit für Ende September, bzw. Anfang Oktober planen. Das Sommersemester beginnt nach kurzer Vorlesungspause im März. Ab Mai können Sie die unterrichtsfreie Zeit für Ihre Masterarbeit nutzen.

Dauer & Art
2 Semester/ Full-Time
Dauer & Art - 2 Semester/ Full-Time

Je nach Qualifikation können Sie Ihr Studium in zwei als Vollzeit-Studium absolvieren.

Accreditation icon
Akkreditierung
ZEvA
Akkreditierung - ZEvA

Die Akkreditierung unserer Studiengänge ist uns sehr wichtig. Wir lassen unsere Programme darum regelmäßig von unabhängigen, externen Agenturen auf ihre Qualität hin überprüfen. Der Master in European Studies ist durch die Agentur ZEvA akkreditiert (Zentrale Evaluations- und Akkreditierungsagentur). Transparenz, Verfahrenssicherheit, bestmögliche Betreuung und gut begründete Beurteilungen von Lehre, Studium und Qualitätssicherung kennzeichnen die Verfahrensqualität externer Begutachtungen durch die ZEvA.

Class icon
Seminargröße
max. 25 Studierende
Seminargröße - max. 25 Studierende

Unser Unterricht findet in kleinen Gruppen von rund 25 Studierenden statt. Sie haben so die Möglichkeit in intensiven Kontakt mit Lehrenden und Dozenten zu treten. Die kleinen Gruppen ermöglichen ein intensives Miteinander und gewährleisten zudem einen nachhaltigen interkulturellen Austausch zwischen den Studierenden.

Tuition icon
Gebühren
7.900 Euro
Gebühren - 7.900 Euro

Das Studienentgelt beträgt 7.900 Euro für das gesamte Studium, zzgl. des Semesterbeitrags von rund 350 Euro pro Semester (Stand 08/2018). Der Semesterbeitrag beinhaltet das Semesterticket mit kostenloser Beförderung im öffentlichen Nahverkehr in Bremen, Niedersachsen und Hamburg. Hinweise zur Finanzierung des Studiums, bzw. Infos zur Vereinbarung eines individuellen Finanzplans finden Sie im Menüpunkt Beratung. 

Deadline icon
Bewerbungsfrist
31. März 2020
Bewerbungsfrist - 31. März 2020

Die Bewerbungsfrist für den Studienstart 2019 endet am 31. März 2020. Bitte bewerben Sie sich ausschließlich online über unser Bewerbungstool. Auch wenn noch nicht alle Ihre Unterlagen vollständig vorliegen, freuen wir uns jederzeit über Ihre Bewerbung.  

Programmbeschreibung - Master in European Studies

Intensive Vorbereitung für Ihre Karriere in oder mit der EU

Der Master-Studiengang European Studies am International Graduate Center ist ein praxisorientiertes Aufbaustudium. Sie belegen Kurse im privaten und öffentlichen Management, Recht, Wirtschaft und Politik – immer in Hinblick auf die Europäische Union. Nach den ersten einführenden Studienwochen lernen Sie „Brüssel“, genauer die EU-Institutionen und mit ihnen interagierende öffentliche und privatwirtschaftliche Organisationen bei unserem Intensivseminar in Brüssel kennen, das wir zusammen mit Partnerinstitutionen aus Riga und der Westschweiz durchführen.

Damit Sie sich umfassend auf Ihre Karriere – sei es eine europäische Laufbahn in den EU-Institutionen, im diplomatischen Dienst oder in Regierung und Verwaltung der Mitgliedsstaaten oder von Partnerstaaten der EU oder in der Wirtschaft vorbereiten können, haben Sie zusätzlich die Möglichkeiten, an einem Programm zur Karriereentwicklung teilzunehmen oder Kurse für interkulturelles Management, zu Gruppenprozessen oder zur Entwicklung von persönlichen Kompetenzen zu belegen. Die Karrierechancen der Absolventen des Masters European Studies reichen von Führungspositionen im privaten und öffentlichen Sektor über Lobby-Aktivitäten bis zu politischen Ämtern.

Video Master European Studies

  • Neben erstklassigen Dozenten mit internationaler Erfahrung bietet das MES-Programm den Studierenden fundierte Kenntnisse in europäischen Angelegenheiten. “

    Rubisel Velázquez
    Herkunft: Mexiko
     

  • Ich habe die internationale Erfahrung genossen, ich habe gelernt, in interkulturellen Teams zu arbeiten, und mein Englisch verbessert.“

    Denise Schroten
    Herkunft: Deutschland

  • Das Wissen und die Expertise von diesem Programm, hat mir eine solide Basis für die Arbeit in privaten oder öffentlichen Einrichtungen gegeben.“

    Marisol Oropeza
    Herkunft: Mexiko

  • Ich entwickelte hier mein kritischen Denkens, wissenschaftliche und selbständige Arbeit, angewandt bei einer Vielzahl von europäischen Themen.“

    Murat Serdaroglu
    Herkunft: Turkei

  • MES an der HS-Bremen zu studieren war für mich eine großartige Gelegenheit, meine Blickwinkel zu erweitern.

    Saadia Khatoon
    Herkunft: Pakistan

  • Ich habe einen weiten Überblick über die Handels- sowie Geschäftsvorschriften der EU erhalten und dabei meine persönlichen Präsentations- sowie Teamfähigkeit verbessert.“

    Yuzhu Zhao
    Herkunft: China

  • Der MES half mir dabei, die Felder zu entdecken, in denen ich mich engagieren will. Jetzt bin ich Lobbyist in Brüssel.“

    Symeon Christofyllidis
    Herkunft: Griechenland

  • Das MES-Programm der Hochschule Bremen hat mir ein interdisziplinäres Wissen vermittelt, dass für meine Karriere als Dozent von Vorteil ist.“

    Irwan Iskandar
    Herkunft: Indonesia

Kontakt

Programm Koordination

Der Master in European Studies bereitet seit 1999 Studierende auf Führungspositionen im privaten und öffentlichen Sektor vor. Dank kleiner interkultureller Gruppen ist der direkte Austausch und Kontakt zu unseren internationalen Dozentinnen und Dozenten sowie Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern möglich. Überzeugen Sie sich selbst von unserer langjährigen Erfahrung und werden Sie Teil dieses Programmes.

Prof. Dr. Christiane Trüe
Prof. Dr. Christiane Trüe
Studiengangsleiterin

Einige Bilder von unseren Studierenden während einer Exkursion nach Brüssel, Belgien

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

International Student Assistance

Der ISA-Service (International Student Assistance) des IGC kümmert sich von Anfang an um Ihren Aufenthalt in Deutschland. Seit fast 15 Jahren sammeln wir Erfahrungen und bieten Ihnen allerbesten Service. Ab dem Zeitpunkt der Anzahlung unterstützt Sie ISA bei allen Themen außerhalb des Studiums. ISA hilft bei der Wohnungssuche und bei Visa-Anträgen, klärt Versicherungsfragen und berät Sie im Umgang mit Behörden im In- und Ausland. Zusätzlich organisiert ISA viele Ausflüge und Events neben dem Studium, so dass unter unseren Studierenden ein ganz besonderes Gruppengefühl entsteht. Unser ISA Service ist natürlich kostenlos. 

  • International Student Assistance
    Support von Anfang an
    Wir unterstützen Sie rund ums Studium - von der Bewerbung bis zur Karriereplanung nach Ihrem Studium.
  • Online-Bewerbung
    Bewerben Sie sich!
    Wagen Sie den nächsten Karriereschritt - hier gelangen Sie zur Bewerbung
  • Freunde werben Freunde
    Empfehlen Sie uns!
    Empfehlen Sie uns und Ihr Freund profitiert von vergünstigten Studiengebühren.
  • Berufsbegleitende MBA & Master
    Studium neben dem Beruf
    Geben Sie Ihrer Karriere einen Schub - Studieren Sie neben der Arbeit, an Wochenenden und in Intensiv-Blöcken.
  • MBA & Master
    Programmübersicht
    Interesse an einem Vollzeitstudium am IGC? Hier finden Sie unsere Programme im Überblick.
  • Was Alumni über das Studium berichten
    Meine Zeit am IGC
    Interessiert? Lesen Sie, wie unsere Alumni aufs Studium zurückblicken.
  • Nach dem Studium in den Job
    Ihr Job nach dem Studium
    Berufsplanung, Bewerbung und Jobsuche - wir helfen Ihnen dabei