International MBA: International Finance & Investments

Key Facts

Degree MBA / MBA
Study start October 2023
Application deadline 

March 31, 2023

Accreditation

IGC: AQAS, EFMD-accredited
UNCW: AACSB, SACS

Requirements
  • Bachelor's degree in a business related subject (210 ECTS)
  • A minimum of two years of relevant experience after first degree
  • Letter of motivation
  • High English proficiency (IELTS 6.5 points or TOEFL iBT min. 90)
  • All documents must be provided in English
  • Funding for tuition fees and living costs
Language English
Duration & Type 3 semesters / Full-time
Group size max. 25 students
Tuition fees IGC: € 7.650* plus an additional semester fee of roughly € 350
UNCW: $ 10.367,50
*subject to the amendment of the examination regulations

Start your financial career in North Carolina

After successfully completing the core modules at the IGC in Bremen, students of the IBSA Dual Degree Master’s Program with a specialization in International Finance & Investments will study in the US at the University of North Carolina Wilmington (UNCW). The Economics and Finance Department at the Cameron School of Business at UNCW is highly ranked due to its AACBS business accreditation and state-of-the-art facilities. Through the Economics and Finance Department, you will have free access to the Bloomberg computer software, including terminals and certificates. As a student at Cameron School of Business, you will gather new experiences and perspectives, as well as gain skills and competencies necessary for making financing and investment decisions in the global economy.

 

International Accreditation

Since September 2022 our International MBA is internationally accredited! Founded in 1972, EFMD is a global, non-profit, membership-based organization dedicated to management development. It is recognized worldwide as an accrediting body for business schools, business school programs and corporate universities. Our international MBA program is only the second MBA program in Germany to receive this accreditation seal and can thus count itself among the world's best MBA programs.

 

Perspectives

Your International MBA prepares you for all financial positions in international companies!

International graduates can prepare their next career step thanks to Germany's Job-Seeking Visa.

 

Benefits

  • 2 degrees: MBA & Master
  • Fast track option: 2 countries, 1 year
  • Choice from different specializations
  • International network
  • Free German language course (optional)
  • International Student Assistance (ISA)

Course of studies

Benefit from a prestigious university network

You will spend your first term (four months) at IGC, studying business basics; in the second term, you will specialize in "International Finance & Investments" at the University of North Carolina Wilmington, US, where you will also write your thesis.

 

Online Info Session on February 15, 2023

Study in Bremen, Germany: You've got questions? We've got the answers!

Register now

We are here for you!

Program Coordination
Usanie Dennerlein
T: 0421-5905-4456
E: usanie.dennerlein@hs-bremen.de

 

Business Analytics

This module aims to introduce students to business analytics concepts required to understand contemporary business challenges. Analytical techniques will be applied to assess and resolve some of the complex challenges faced by business professionals in global industries.

 

Global Strategic Analysis

In this core module, students understand strategic business planning: This module introduces students to global business challenges and the methods used to address them, through careful review of effective managerial techniques, in order to ensure a winning international business strategy.

 

Global Marketing Strategies

You will gain skill and confidence in developing strong marketing plans for global business. The course addresses marketing performance in a global context; assesses differences in country environments; and applies techniques for international market segmentation, entry strategies, risk analysis, and comprehensive marketing plans.

 

Human Resource Management in the Global Environment

Students investigate critical human resource management (HRM) topics within this module. The aim is to examine relevant elements of HRM as they relate to global business, organizational policies, and standard management practices.

Multinational Financial Management

The goal of the course is to train highly effective global managers who have advanced analytical and decision-making skills essential for conducting successful business across borders.

 

International Leadership (elective)

The main objective of the module Leadership is to give the course participants a general leadership overview, to explore their individual leadership styles and set feasible goals for developing their management skills.

Financial Management

The module Financial Management is comprised of a mixture of lectures, assignments and discussions. In order to understand the logic behind the decision-making processes of successful financial managers, this course explores relevant topics and provides expertise on applied tools and methods. At the same time are you familiarized with the interplay between capital markets, financial actors and financial institutions. The practical application of the newly learned theory is always in the foreground.

Portfolio Analysis and Management I: Equity

This module is designed to provide you with an understanding of potential benefits and global portfolio diversification strategies. The focus is on the traditional asset class of equity instruments. It is also about the dynamic developments in asset allocation and management. The increased dissolution of borders and the growing synchronization of world economic activity continue to influence dividend paper. Therefore, the first part of the module introduces basic financial theories and reviews them for current releases.

 

Portfolio Analysis and Management II: Fixed-Income

Along with equity securities, fixed income securities form an integral part of a welldiversified portfolio. For this reason, the second part of the Portfolio Analysis and Management module deals with the fixed income asset class and the associated analysis techniques and tools. You will deepen your knowledge in financial theories and learn to put them in a specialized context on international bond markets as a prime example of fixed income securities.

Portfolio Management III: Alternative Assets & Derivates

In this module you will gain insight into financial and commodity derivative contracts. More specifically, this module deals with the potential applications for effective financial risk  management within companies. The syllabus combines a practice-oriented approach with derivative-based financial instruments and stimulating discussions on concrete case studies. In addition to this, you will learn about risk effects that influence commodity prices, interest rates and currency values.

Statistics & Econometrics

Statistics and Econometrics deals with statistical regression models, analyzes and forecasts their applications in international business. The focus is on field-proven regression methods. By  repeatedly applying these methods, you will develop both theoretical and practical approaches throughout the module. These include, among other things, measured values, analyses and interpretations of economic forecasts.

International Real Estate Investments

The module examines the definition of commercial real estate in different countries. In addition, the real estate industry is presented as an inefficient market clearly distinguished from capital market investments. You will discuss and examine a range of topics in the field of international property valuation. These include, for example, the mathematics of real estate investments, cross-border transfers, tax-privileged options, eco-tourism and sustainable development.

Master Thesis

At the end of the International MBA program there is the master thesis with 30 ECTS, which has to be written in English. As a rule, the entire 3rd term is dedicated to the thesis - at the same university where you had your specialization.

Get in contact with our Program Coordination and our International Student Assistance

Usanie Dennerlein, Program Coordination

Christian Frank, International Student Assistance

Phone:+49 421 5905-4181

Email: isa@hs-bremen.de

 

Dr. Frank Giesa, Program Director

International MBA: International Finance und Investments

Übersicht

Abschluss International MBA / International MBA
Studienbeginn Oktober
Bewerbungsfrist

31. Mai 2024 - Jetzt bewerben!

Akkreditierung

IGC: HSB, EFMD-akkreditiert
UNCW: AACSB & SACS

Voraussetzungen
  • Wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Bachelorabschluss*
  • Mindestens zwei Jahre einschlägige Berufserfahrung nach dem Erststudium
  • Motivationsschreiben
  • Sehr gute Englischkenntnisse (IELTS 6.5 Punkte oder TOEFL iBT min. 90 Punkte oder Äquivalent)
  • Vorlage aller Dokumente auf Deutsch oder Englisch
  • Finanz. Mittel für Studiengebühren und Lebenshaltungskosten

*Für Bewerber:innen aus dem Europäischen Hochschulraum (EHR) sind 210 ECTS erforderlich. Bewerber:innen aus Europa mit 180 ECTS können unter der Bedingung eines Pflichtpraktikums zugelassen werden. Das Praktikum muss mindestens 22 Wochen im Rahmen des Studiums absolviert werden (z.B. im 3. Semester). Für alle anderen wird eine Äquivalenzprüfung durchgeführt.

Unterrichtssprache  Englisch
Dauer & Art 3 Semester / Vollzeit
Seminargröße max. 25 Studierende
Studienentgelt

IGC:  Frühbucherrabatt bis 31. Mai: € 7.150 bei Vollzahlung oder € 7.400 bei 5 monatlichen Raten von € 1.180 und der Anzahlung von € 1.500*
UNCW: $ 10.367,50

*plus € 350 Studierenden- und Semesterticket. Rabattmöglichkeiten

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Kernmodule am Bremer IGC, geht es für Studierende der Spezialisierung International Finance & Investments an die University of North Carolina Wilmington (UNCW) in den USA. Die Cameron School of Business, die Fakultät des Fachbereiches Betriebswirtschaft an der UNCW, beeindruckt mit einem einzigartigen Portfolio und hochmodernen Räumlichkeiten. Die AACSB akkreditierte Wirtschaftsfakultät gewährt Ihnen zudem freien Zugang zur Computersoftware Bloomberg inklusive Endgeräten und Zertifikaten. Sie werden nicht nur persönlich durch neue Erlebnisse und Perspektiven gefördert, sondern erlangen auch die notwendigen Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen für Finanzierungs- und Investitionsentscheidungen in der globalen Wirtschaft.

 

Internationales Gütesiegel

Seit September 2022 ist unser International MBA EFMD-akkreditiert! Die EFMD wurde 1972 gegründet und ist eine globale, gemeinnützige, mitgliederorientierte Organisation, die sich der Managemententwicklung widmet. Sie ist weltweit als Akkreditierungsstelle für Business Schools, Business-School-Programme und Unternehmensuniversitäten anerkannt. Unser internationales MBA-Programm ist erst das zweite MBA-Programm in Deutschland, das dieses Akkreditierungssiegel erhalten hat und darf sich damit zu den besten MBA-Programmen der Welt zählen.

Perspektiven

Mit Abschluss des Studiums sind Sie perfekt ausgebildet für die Finanzbereiche von international tätigen Unternehmen.

Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt des IGC liegt in der Internationalität und Interkulturalität des Curriculums, der Studierenden und Lehrenden. Sie erwerben interkulturelle Kompetenz, die in Unternehmen und Organisationen zunehmend nachgefragt ist.

Internationale Absolventen können mit dem Job-Seeking Visa in Ruhe den nächsten Karriereschritt vorbereiten.

Vorteile

  • 2 Abschlüsse: MBA & Master
  • Fast Track Option: 2 Länder, 1 Jahr
  • Internationales Netzwerk
  • Deutschkurs (optional)
  • International Student Assistance (ISA)

Studiere beim IGC-Partner University of North Carolina Wilmington

Der Strand von Wrightsville Beach mit Badenden der parkähnliche Campus von UNCW, ein Fahrrad kommt einer Fußgängerin entgegen Drei Studierende an einem langen Tisch

Studienverlauf

Nach dem Grundstudium am IGC spezialisieren Sie sich an der University of North Carolina auf "International Finance & Investments". Hier schreiben Sie im Anschluss Ihre Master's Thesis mit einem Thema der gewählten Spezialisierung.

Online Info Session am 19.06.2024

Studium in Bremen, Deutschland: Du hast Fragen zu Krankenversicherung & Sperrkonto? Wir haben die Antworten!

Anmeldung

Wir sind für Sie da!

Programmkoordination
Usanie Dennerlein
T: +49 421 5905-4456
E: usanie.dennerlein@hs-bremen.de

STEM-Auszeichnung für UNCW-MBA

Absolventen der Spezialisierung "International Finance & Investments" können zukünftig bis zu drei Jahren in den USA arbeiten. Mehr Infos

Multinational Financial Management

  • Internationale Finanzierungsstrategien
  • Analysemethoden

Das Modul stattet zukünftige Manager:innen mit einem konzeptionellen Grundgerüst für wesentliche internationale Finanzierungsstrategien aus. Damit Sie im späteren Berufsleben Geschäfte grenzübergreifend erfolgreich abwickeln können, stärkt der Kurs einerseits Ihre Analyse- als auch Ihre Entscheidungs-Kompetenzen.

 

Global Strategic Analysis

  • Entwicklung eines Business Plans

In diesem Modul lernen Sie, Ihren eigenen strategischen Geschäftsplan zu entwickeln. Dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Überprüfung effektiver Managementtechniken. Sie lernen zudem nützliche Methoden, die Ihnen im Job bei der Bewältigung globaler unternehmerischer Herausforderungen und der Optimierung von internationalen Geschäftsstrategien helfen.

 

Global Marketing Strategies

  • Entwicklung verschiedener Marketingkonzepte

In „Global Marketing Strategies“ werden Sie ausführliche Marketingkonzepte entwickeln, die auch auf internationaler Ebene erfolgreich mithalten können. Dabei stehen Themen wie globale Marketingleistungen, Risikoanalysen, Marktsegmentierungen und länderspezifische Unterschiede auf dem Plan.

Human Resource Management in the Global Environment

  • Personalmanagement

Dieses Modul gibt einen Überblick über die wesentlichen Praktiken des Human Resource Managements (HRM) im Zusammenhang mit internationalen Geschäften, standardisierten Managementpraktiken und organisatorischen Rahmenbedingungen. Auf diese Weise erlangen die Teilnehmenden ein Verständnis für die dynamischen Faktoren, die in internationalen HRM-Prozessen eine Rolle spielen.

 

Business Analytics

  • Datenanalyse

Dieses Modul führt Studierende in Business-Analytics-Konzepte ein, die zum Verständnis der aktuellen geschäftlichen Herausforderungen erforderlich sind. Die Analysetechniken helfen, die komplexen Herausforderungen der globalen Geschäftswelt zu bewerten und zu lösen.

International Leadership (optional)

  • Arbeiten Sie an Ihrem eigenen Führungsstil
  • Entdecken Sie Ihre Managementfähigkeiten

Im Mittelpunkt dieses optionalen Moduls steht das Thema Mitarbeiterführung. Sie lernen mit praktischen Übungen modernste Managementmethoden und Konzepte kennen. Hierbei geht es insbesondere um die Entwicklung Ihrer persönlichen Führungsqualitäten. Das erlangte Fachwissen und das praxiserprobte Handwerkszeug bereiten Sie ideal auf anspruchsvollen Aufgaben in einem wettbewerbsorientierten Geschäftsumfeld vor.

Financial Managment

Das Modul Fiancial Management ist eine Mischung aus Vorlesungen, Aufgaben und Diskussionen. Um die Gedankengänge hinter den Entscheidungsprozessen von erfolgreichen Finanzmanager:innen zu verstehen, erforscht dieser Kurs relevante Themen und vermittelt Fachwissen über angewendete Instrumente und Methoden. Gleichzeitig werden Studierende mit dem Wechselspiel zwischen Kapitalmärkten, Finanzakteur:innen und finanziellen Institutionen vertraut gemacht. Dabei steht die praktische Anwendung der neu erlernten Theorie stets im Vordergrund.

Portfolio Analysis and Management I: Equity

Dieses Modul gibt Ihnen ein Verständnis für Nutzenpotenziale und globale Portfoliodiversifikationsstrategien. Im Fokus steht die traditionelle Assetklasse der Eigenkapitalinstrumente. Zudem geht es um die dynamischen Entwicklungen im Bereich der Vermögensallokation und - verwaltung. Die vermehrte Auflösung von Grenzen und die wachsende Synchronisation der weltwirtschaftlichen Aktivität beeinflussen weiterhin Dividendenpapiere. Daher werden im ersten Teil des Moduls  grundlegende Finanztheorien vorgestellt und in Bezug auf aktuelle Veröffentlichungen überprüft.

 

Portfolio Analysis and Management II: Fixed-Income

Neben Dividendenpapieren können auch festverzinsliche Wertpapiere einen wesentlichen Bestandteil eines gut diversifizierten Portfolios ausmachen. Aus diesem Grund befasst sich der zweite Teil des Moduls Portfolio Analysis and Management mit der Vermögensklasse Fixed Income und den dazugehörigen Analysetechniken und -mitteln. Die Studierenden vertiefen ihr Fachwissen über Finanztheorien und lernen diese in einen fachbezogenen Kontext zu internationalen Rentenmärkten als Musterbeispiel für festverzinsliche Wertpapiere zu setzen.

Portfolio Management III: Alternative Assets & Derivatives

In diesem Modul erhalten Sie Einblick in Finanz- und Rohstoff- Derivat-Kontrakte. Dabei geht es insbesondere um die Einsatzmöglichkeiten für ein effektives Finanzrisikomanagement innerhalb von Unternehmen. Der Lehrplan kombiniert den stark anwendungsorientierten Ansatz mit derivativ basierten Finanzinstrumenten und anregenden Diskussionen über konkrete Fallbeispiele. Zudem lernen Sie Risikoeffekte kennen, die Rohstoffpreise, Zinssätze und Währungswerte beeinflussen können.

Statistics and Econometrics

In Statistics and Econometrics geht es um statistische Regressionsmodelle, - analysen und -prognosen und deren Anwendungen im internationalen Geschäft. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei praxiserprobte Regressionsmethoden. Durch das wiederholte Anwenden dieser Methoden entwickeln Sie im Laufe des Moduls sowohl theoretische als auch praktische Ansätze. Dazu gehören unter anderem Messwerte, Analysen und Deutungen von wirtschaftlichen Prognosen.

International Real Estate Investments

Das Modul untersucht die Definition von gewerblichen Immobilien in verschiedenen Ländern. Zudem wird die Immobilienbranche als ineffizienter Markt dargestellt, der von Kapitalmarktanlagen klar zu unterscheiden ist. Die Studierenden diskutieren und prüfen eine Reihe von Themen aus dem Bereich der internationalen Immobilienbewertung. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel die Mathematik der Immobilienanlagen, grenzüberschreitende Überweisungen, steuerbegünstigte Optionen, Öko-Tourismus und nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Thesis

Am Ende des MBA-Studiums steht die Masterthesis mit 30 ECTS, die grundsätzlich auf Englisch zu verfassen ist. In der Regel steht der gesamte 3. Term im Zeichen der Abschlussarbeit. Diese schreiben Sie an der UNCW, mit einem Thema aus der Spezialisierung International Finance & Investments.

Sprechzeiten der Programmkoordination und des International Student Assistance

Usanie Dennerlein, Programmkoordination

Robert Campbell Rennie, International Student Assistance

Dr. Frank Fürstenberg, Studiengangsleitung