Master in Aeronautical Management

Specialized knowledge of management in the aviation industry

The aviation industry is a dynamic, fast-growing market, which needs competent, young professionals with specialist expertise. Our master program in Aeronautical Management will provide you with important interdisciplinary insights into various aviation systems, such as airlines, maintenance facilities and legislative authorities. Your studies will include generic management skills as well as aviation-specific knowledge and management techniques. Graduates of this International Graduate Center (IGC) program will be equipped to take on leadership roles within the aviation industry, airlines or authorities.

Your benefits

  • great importance attached to analytical skills
  • program entirely in English
  • university professors and lecturers with practical aviation industry experience
  • possible field trip (Berlin)

Requirements

  • an aviation-related first degree
  • at least 1 year of work experience (as a pilot, in aircraft maintenance or in the aviation industry)
  • excellent English skills
  • the ambition to develop a career in the international aviation industry

 

Key Facts - Master Aeronautical Management

Degree
Master of Engineering
Degree - Master of Engineering

Upon completion of this postgraduate management degree, you will earn your Master of Engineering in Aeronautical Management. You will have high order skills in analysis and critical evaluation. The IGC encourages students to solve complex problems and think independently. You need to hold an undergraduate degree in order to receive admission.

Language
English
Language - English

As the language of education is English, very good English knowledge is required. Please be advised that it is possible to complete your degree without any German language knowledge, also the aviation industry is an industry where you can often work in Germany without German skills. You increase though your job chances in Germany with German languages skills and we recommend that you take advantage of our free German courses.

Start
October
Start - October

The program begins in the winter semester. The introductory events and courses start at the beginning of October and run until mid-February, so make sure to plan accordingly. The summer semester begins after a short break in March. Starting in July, you can use the lecture-free period to work on your master’s thesis.

Duration & Type
2 semester / full-time
Duration & Type - 2 semester / full-time

You can complete your studies in two semesters as a full-time student.

Accreditation
AQAS
Accreditation - AQAS

Accreditation of our degree programs is very important to us. For this reason, we regularly have our programs reviewed for quality by independent external agencies. The Master of Engineering in Aeronautical Management is accredited by the agency AQAS (Agentur für Qualitätssicherung durch Akkreditierung von Studiengängen e.V.). Since 2002, this agency has accredited most of the study programs at public universities in Germany.

Group size
Maximum 20 students
Group size - Maximum 20 students

Our classes take place in small groups. The Master in Aeronautical Management is limited even to a maximum number of about 20 students. This gives you the opportunity to maintain close contact with teachers and lecturers and facilitates cooperation and intercultural exchange among fellow-students.

Tuition fee
8,500 Euro
Tuition fee - 8,500 Euro

The tuition fee is 8,500 euros for the entire course, plus an additional semester fee of roughly 350 euros per semester (as of 08/2018). The semester fee covers your student ticket that entitles you to free public transportation in Bremen, as well as to Lower Saxony and Hamburg. To learn more about financing your studies or arranging a personalized payment plan, see the menu item Support.

Application deadline
May 31st
Application deadline - May 31st

The application deadline for the academic year beginning in 2019 is May 31st of the same year. If you apply after the deadline, you will be put on a waitlist. Application submission is possible online only using our application tool. We look forward to receiving your application, even if you don’t yet have all of your documents available to you.

Program description - Master in Aeronautical Management

Masters for pilots and engineers in the aviation-industry

Our Master Aeronautical Management program is designed for pilots and engineers. This full-time International Graduate Center (IGC) program is taught entirely in English and includes the following modules: Aviation Business Administration, Risk Management in Aviation, International Law and Aviation law, Simulation via Aviation Logistics Systems, Simulation and Modeling, Control Systems, Human Factors in Leadership. These modules are delivered by lecturers and professors with practical aviation industry experience. In line with our interdisciplinary focus, you will be taught using multiple techniques e.g. discussions, teamwork, seminars and case studies. As regards alternative language options, international students can also choose from a number of German-language courses at Hochschule Bremen as well as an international summer school.

  • The Master in Aeronautical Management is a wonderful pathway for the engineering graduates looking to enhance their skills in management and technical areas."

    Muhammad Saleem
    Origin: Pakistan

  • I found this master program to be a perfect complement to my bachelor degree course in aviation."

    Florian Andresen
    Origin: Germany

Contact - Program Coordinator

The Master program in Aeronautical Management will prepare you for positions in leadership within the Aviation industry, the air transport and logistic branch and governmental institutions. Due to the aviation developing at accelerated speed, skills need to be extended in the area of management, economy and legislation.

Prof. Dr. Bernd Steckemetz
Prof. Dr. Bernd Steckemetz
Program Director

International Student Assistance

Our International Student Assistance (ISA) assists you in different aspects of settling in: finding accommodation, handling visa applications, clarifing insurance queries and dealing with authorities both at home and abroad. This service is of course free of charge. Furthermore ISA regularly organizes excursions and events during your study in Bremen. They offer movie nights, sightseeing trips, a christmas party, BBQ and excursions to several cities.

Master in Aeronautical Management

Spezialisierte Management Kenntnisse in der Luftfahrtindustrie

Bedingt durch die schnellen Entwicklungen in der Luftfahrt ist ein angewandtes wissenschaftliches Studium für Pilot*innen, Wartungsingenieur*innen und technisches Personal unerlässlich. Fundiertes Fachwissen wird immer relevanter. Durch ein Studium des Masterprogrammes Aeronautical Management erweiteren Sie Ihre Luftfahrtkenntnisse, durch tiefere Einblicke in Fluggesellschaften, Wartungseinrichtungen und Behörden. Das International Graduate Center (IGC) hat den Master so konzipiert, dass Sie anhand der verschiedenen Geschäftsfelder in der Luftfahrt Managementkenntnisse auf- und ausbauen. Somit bereitet Sie ein Studium am Graduate Center auf leitende Positionen in der Luftfahrtindustrie, in Luftverkehrsgesellschaften und Luftfahrtbehörden vor.

Vorteile

  • Fokus auf dem Erwerb analytischer Fähigkeiten
  • Universitätsprofessoren und Lehrende mit praktischer Erfahrung in der Luftfahrt
  • Englischsprachiges Masterprogramm
  • Optionale Exkursion nach Berlin
  • Deutschkurs (optional)
  • ISA-Team (International Student Assistance) vor Ort

Voraussetzungen

  • Akademischer Abschluss aus dem Bereich der Luftfahrt (Bachelor)
  • Mind. 1 Jahr Berufserfahrung (als Pilot*in, Wartungsingenieur*in oder als technisches Personal)
  • Ausgezeichnete Englischkenntnisse (IELTS 6,0)
  • Finanzielle Mittel für Studiengebühr und Lebenshaltungskosten von ~18.000 Euro
  • Interesse an einer Karriere in der internationalen Luftfahrtindustrie

Karrieremöglichkeiten

Führungsrollen innerhalb der

  • Luftfahrtindustrie,
  • Fluggesellschaften oder
  • Behörden

Key Facts - Master in Aeronautical Management

Degree icon
Abschluss
Master of Engineering
Abschluss - Master of Engineering

Der akademische Grad Master in Engineering wird nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Studiums verliehen. 

Language icon
Unterrichtssprache
Englisch
Unterrichtssprache - Englisch

Der Unterricht findet komplett in englischer Sprache statt. Sehr gute Englischkenntnisse sind von daher Voraussetzung.  Es ist Ihnen möglich, das Studium ohne Deutschkenntnisse zu absolvieren. Wenn Sie im Anschluss an Ihr Studium allerdings gern in Deutschland arbeiten möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen den Besuch unserer kostenlos angebotenen Deutschkurse.

Calendar icon
Beginn
Oktober
Beginn - Oktober

Das Programm beginnt jeweils zum Wintersemester. Die Einführungsveranstaltungen, sowie die Lehrveranstaltungen beginnen Anfang Oktober und gehen bis Mitte Februar. Sie sollten Ihre Anreise somit für Ende September, bzw. Anfang Oktober planen. Das Sommersemester beginnt nach kurzer Vorlesungspause im März. Ab Mai können Sie die unterrichtsfreie Zeit für Ihre Masterarbeit nutzen.

Dauer & Art
2 Semester/ Full-Time
Dauer & Art - 2 Semester/ Full-Time

Sie können Ihr Studium in zwei als Vollzeit-Studium absolvieren.

Accreditation icon
Akkreditierung
AQAS
Akkreditierung - AQAS

Die Akkreditierung unserer Studiengänge ist uns sehr wichtig. Wir lassen unsere Programme darum regelmäßig von unabhängigen, externen Agenturen auf ihre Qualität hin überprüfen. Der Master in Aeronautical Management ist durch die Agentur AQAS akkreditiert (Agentur für Qualitätssicherung durch Akkreditierung von Studiengängen e.V.). Die Agentur hat seit 2002 mit die meisten Studiengänge an öffentlichen Hochschulen in Deutschland akkreditiert.

Class icon
Seminargröße
max. 25 Studierende
Seminargröße - max. 25 Studierende

Unser Unterricht findet in kleinen Gruppen statt. Der Master of Engineering in Aeronautical Managementof ist sogar auf maximal circa 20 Studierenden beschränkt. Sie haben so die Möglichkeit in intensiven Kontakt mit Lehrenden und Dozenten zu treten. Die kleinen Gruppen ermöglichen ein intensives Miteinander und gewährleisten zudem einen nachhaltigen interkulturellen Austausch zwischen den Studierenden.

Tuition icon
Gebühren
8.500 Euro
Gebühren - 8.500 Euro

Das Studienentgelt beträgt 8.500 Euro für das gesamte Studium, zzgl. des Semesterbeitrags von rund 350 Euro pro Semester (Stand 08/2018). Der Semesterbeitrag beinhaltet das Semesterticket mit kostenloser Beförderung im öffentlichen Nahverkehr in Bremen, Niedersachsen und Hamburg. Hinweise zur Finanzierung des Studiums, bzw. Infos zur Vereinbarung eines individuellen Finanzplans finden Sie im Menüpunkt Beratung. 

Deadline icon
Bewerbungsfrist
31. März
Bewerbungsfrist - 31. März

Die Bewerbungsfrist für den Studienstart 2020 endet am 31. März 2020. Bitte bewerben Sie sich ausschließlich online über unser Bewerbungstool. Auch wenn noch nicht alle Ihre Unterlagen vollständig vorliegen, freuen wir uns jederzeit über Ihre Bewerbung.  

Programmbeschreibung - Master in Aeronautical Management

Master Programm für Pilot*innen und Ingenieur*innen der internationalen Luftfahrtindustrie

Am International Graduate Center (IGC) absolvieren Sie den unter anderem für Pilot*innen und Ingenieur*innen konzipierten Masterstudiengang Aeronautical Management komplett in englischer Sprache. Dieses Vollzeit-Studienprogramm des IGC verbessert durch das Angebot folgender Module Ihre Kompetenzen: Betriebswirtschaftslehre in der Luftfahrt, Risikomanagement in Flugaktivitäten, Internationales Recht und Luftfahrtrecht, Simulation von Luftfahrt-Logistiksystemen, Modellierung und Simulation, Steuerungssysteme sowie menschliche Faktoren in der Führung. Die Dozent*innen in diesen Modulen setzen sich aus Professor*innen und Lehrenden mit praktischer Erfahrung aus den verschiedenen Bereichen der Luftfahrtindustrie zusammen. In Diskussionsrunden, Gruppenarbeiten, Fallstudien und Seminaren verbessern Sie Ihre Kompetenzen und Ihr Wissen über diese internationale Branche. Zudem können Sie während Ihres Studiums auf Englisch in Deutschland aus einer Bandbreite an Sprachkursen sowie einem internationalen Sommerkurs an der Hochschule Bremen Ihre Deutschkenntnisse auf- oder ausbauen.

  • Der Master in Aeronautical Management ist ein guter Weg für Absolventen der Ingenieurwissenschaften, die ihre Fähigkeiten in Management und in technischen Bereichen verbessern möchten.“

    Muhammad Saleem
    Herkunft: Pakistan

  • Ich empfand dieses Master-Programm als eine perfekte Ergänzung zu meinem Bachelor-Studiengang in Luftfahrtsystemtechnik- und Management.“

    Florian Andresen
    Herkunftsland: Deutschland

Kontakt

Programm Koordination

Der Masterstudiengang Aeronautical Management bereitet Sie auf leitende Positionen in der Luftfahrtsindustrie, in Luftverkehrsgesellschaften und Luftfahrtbehörden vor. Aufgrund der schnellen Entwicklungen in der Luftfahrt wird ein angewandtes wissenschaftliches Studium auch für Pilotinnen und Piloten, Wartungsingenieurinnen und Wartungsingenieure sowie technisches Personal immer interessanter.“

Prof. Dr. Bernd Steckemetz
Prof. Dr. Bernd Steckemetz
Studiengangsleiter

International Student Assistance

Der ISA-Service (International Student Assistance) des IGC kümmert sich von Anfang an um Ihren Aufenthalt in Deutschland. Seit fast 15 Jahren sammeln wir Erfahrungen und bieten Ihnen allerbesten Service. Ab dem Zeitpunkt der Anzahlung unterstützt Sie ISA bei allen Themen außerhalb des Studiums. ISA hilft bei der Wohnungssuche und bei Visa-Anträgen, klärt Versicherungsfragen und berät Sie im Umgang mit Behörden im In- und Ausland. Zusätzlich organisiert ISA viele Ausflüge und Events neben dem Studium, so dass unter unseren Studierenden ein ganz besonderes Gruppengefühl entsteht. Unser ISA Service ist natürlich kostenlos.