International & Sustainable Management

Key Facts

Degree MBA / Master of Science
Study start October 2023
Application deadline

March 31, 2023

Accreditation

IGC: AQAS, EFMD-accredited
ESSCA: AACSB, EQUIS and AMBA

Requirements
  • Bachelor's degree in a business related subject (210 ECTS)
  • A minimum of two years of relevant experience after first degree
  • Letter of motivation
  • High English proficiency (IELTS 6.5 points or TOEFL iBT min. 90)
  • All documents must be provided in English
  • Funding for tuition fees and living costs
Language English
Duration & Type 3 semesters / Full-time
Group size max. 25 students
Tuition fees IGC: € 7.650* plus an additional semester fee of roughly € 350
ESSCA: € 7.950
*subject to the amendment of the examination regulations

Fulfill your potential in France - sustainably

After successfully completing the core modules at the IGC in Bremen, students of the IBSA Dual Degree Master's Program with a focus on International and Sustainable Management will expand their knowledge at the ESSCA School of Management in Paris. The French study program combines the study of international management and topics related to sustainable practices in a globalized environment and provides students with working knowledge and practical tools necessary in addressing and taking a lead on various social, economic, technological, and environmental issues. 

As a student in this program, you will benefit from your professors’ long scientific and practical expertise. This tripleaccredited business school will provide you with strong communication and negotiating skills and help you develop a keen eye for risk assessment.

 

International Accreditation

Since September 2022 our International MBA is internationally accredited! Founded in 1972, EFMD is a global, non-profit, membership-based organization dedicated to management development. It is recognized worldwide as an accrediting body for business schools, business school programs and corporate universities. Our international MBA program is only the second MBA program in Germany to receive this accreditation seal and can thus count itself among the world's best MBA programs.

 

Perspectives

Your International MBA prepares you for all positions in international companies:

  • General management
  • Operations / logistics
  • Finance / investments
  • Project management
  • Business development
  • Executive management
  • Consultancy

International graduates can prepare their next career step thanks to Germany's Job-Seeking Visa.

 

Benefits

  • 2 degrees: MBA & Master
  • Fast track option: 2 countries, 1 year
  • Choice from different specializations
  • International network
  • Free German language course (optional)
  • International Student Assistance (ISA)

Course of Studies

You will spend your first term (four months) at IGC, studying business basics; in the second term, you will specialize in International & Sustainable Management at ESSCA School of Management in Paris, FR, where you will also write your thesis.

Online Info Session on February 15, 2023

Study in Bremen, Germany: You've got questions? We've got the answers!

Register now

We are here for you!

Program Coordination
Usanie Dennerlein
T: 0421-5905-4456
E: usanie.dennerlein@hs-bremen.de

 

Business Analytics

This module aims to introduce students to business analytics concepts required to understand contemporary business challenges. Analytical techniques will be applied to assess and resolve some of the complex challenges faced by business professionals in global industries.

 

Global Strategic Analysis

In this core module, students understand strategic business planning: This module introduces students to global business challenges and the methods used to address them, through careful review of effective managerial techniques, in order to ensure a winning international business strategy.

 

Global Marketing Strategies

You will gain skill and confidence in developing strong marketing plans for global business. The course addresses marketing performance in a global context; assesses differences in country environments; and applies techniques for international market segmentation, entry strategies, risk analysis, and comprehensive marketing plans.

 

Human Resource Management in the Global Environment

Students investigate critical human resource management (HRM) topics within this module. The aim is to examine relevant elements of HRM as they relate to global business, organizational policies, and standard management practices.

Multinational Financial Management

The goal of the course is to train highly effective global managers who have advanced analytical and decision-making skills essential for conducting successful business across borders.

 

International Leadership (elective)

The main objective of the module Leadership is to give the course participants a general leadership overview, to explore their individual leadership styles and set feasible goals for developing their management skills.

Energy and Ecological Economics

This module addresses the context of ecology and put it in perspective of economics. It draws upon the functioning of ecosystems and related ecological issues such as pollution and climate change. Main economic theories and concepts underlying ecological and energy economics, including the welfare theory, and theories of industry structure are treated in this module. It studies different methods to value environmental goods and the functioning of different types of energy markets. This module addresses in a scientific manner the use of renewable energies and nuclear power as well as climate change issues.

Global Sustainable Business and CSR

This module focuses on analyses of different sustainable projects, business model strategies, and CSR practices. It gives a perspective on sustainability drivers, risk management as environmental and social impact assessment. Students will learn to incorporate sustainability into a business, outlines how to manage supply chains more responsibly and integrate stakeholders in decision making processes. This interdisciplinary module focuses on the policies of transformations to sustainability. Here, the students will learn how to translate socio-ecological theories into effective policies and practices for sustainable development. Throughout the module an international perspective of sustainable businesses and CSR practices will be presented.

 

Sustainable Supply Chain and Quality Management

This module is divided in two parts. Sustainable Supply Chain Management part focuses on incorporation of CSR principles into supply chain processes. It shows students how to develop sustainable policies and strategies for sustainable procurement by taking into account scarcity in supply and the demand of emerging markets. Topics such as risk management and supplier's relationships an green logistics are also treated. The second part, Quality Management, is transdisciplinary because it addresses in detail all necessary standards (ISO norms) and other practices that need to be incorporated in all organizational activities.

Sustainable HRM and Marketing

This module addresses the growing impact of business on society. It shows how to take into account and address the needs of stakeholders such as employees and clients and establish a reputation as a company focused on sustainability. In the first part of the module the internal relations will be treated from the Sustainable Human Resource Management perspective. The lectures include topics on well-being in the workplace, inclustion and gender issues. In teh second part of this module Sustainable Marketing shows the students how to promote environmental and socially responsible practices, products, services, brands and values. It will support students in understanding and creating sustainable organizational policies and practices.

Global and Sustainable Finance

This module constitutes an overview of the role of the financial market and its actors in sustainable development. It addresses ways of creation of values and financial assets in ways that shape real wealth to serve the long-term needs of an inclusive, environmentally sustainable economy. The module also studies financial instruments and methods that serve the development of sustainable projects and initiatives, environmental products and policies, under the goal of promoting a green economic transformation towards low-carbon, sustainable and inclusive pathways. Students will understand how financial industry participants integrate environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors into their business or investment decisions and how national and international institutions could contribute to green transition targets.

Master Thesis

The Master Thesis Seminar covers standards in academic writing, the function of the Master Thesis within the programme context, approaches to find an adequate research question for the final thesis, strategic issues and questions regarding personal goals and career planning, cooperation with companies and business practice for writing the thesis, originality of the thesis topic, approach to literature research, literature originality issues and plagiarism rules, the writing a mock-thesis. Master Thesis involves the students in actually engaging in the research or case study project and writing and finalising the thesis paper.

The internship includes a 20-week internship work contract with a company or organisation involved in general or tourism business or activities.

Internship

The internship involves a 20-week internship contract with a company or organization that is generally from the tourism industry or involved with activities in the tourism industry.

Get in contact with our Program Coordination and our International Student Assistance

Usanie Dennerlein, Program Coordination

Christian Frank

Phone: +49 421 5905-4181

Email: isa@hs-bremen.de

 

 

Dr. Frank Giesa, Program Director

International & Sustainable Management

Übersicht

Abschluss Master of Business Administration / Master of Science
Studienbeginn Oktober 2023
Bewerbungsfrist

31. März 2023

Akkreditierung

IGC: AQAS, EFMD-akkreditiert
ESSCA: AACSB, EQUIS and AMBA

Voraussetzungen
  • Wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Bachelorabschluss (210 ECTS)
  • Mindestens zwei Jahre einschlägige Berufserfahrung nach dem Erststudium
  • Motivationsschreiben
  • Sehr gute Englischkenntnisse (IELTS 6.5 Punkte oder TOEFL iBT min. 90 Punkte)
  • Vorlage aller Dokumente auf Deutsch oder Englisch
  • Finanz. Mittel für Studiengebühren und Lebenshaltungskosten
Unterrichtssprache  Englisch
Dauer & Art 3 Semester / Vollzeit
Seminargröße max. 25 Studierende
Studienentgelt

IGC: € 7.650* zzgl. ca. € 360 Semestergebühren
ESSCA: € 7.950

*vorbehaltlich der Änderung der Prüfungsordnung

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Kernmodule am IGC in Bremen spezialisieren sich Studierende des IBSA Dual Degree Master’s Program an der Pariser Partneruniversität ESSCA School of Management im Bereich International and Sustainable Management. Das französische Studienprogramm bietet eine ideale Lernplattform für die Prozesse und Facetten des innovativen Studiengebiets rund um Nachhaltigkeit. Sie profitieren von den langjährigen Erfahrungen der Lehrkräfte aus Wissenschaft und Praxis. Die dreifach-akkreditierte Wirtschaftshochschule stattet Sie mit starkem Kommunikations- und Verhandlungsgeschick und einem wachsamen Auge bei der Risikobewertung aus.

 

Internationales Gütesiegel

Seit September 2022 ist unser International MBA EFMD-akkreditiert! Die EFMD wurde 1972 gegründet und ist eine globale, gemeinnützige, mitgliederorientierte Organisation, die sich der Managemententwicklung widmet. Sie ist weltweit als Akkreditierungsstelle für Business Schools, Business-School-Programme und Unternehmensuniversitäten anerkannt. Unser internationales MBA-Programm ist erst das zweite MBA-Programm in Deutschland, das dieses Akkreditierungssiegel erhalten hat und darf sich damit zu den besten MBA-Programmen der Welt zählen.

Perspektiven

Mit Abschluss des Studiums sind Sie perfekt ausgebildet für die Kernbereiche von international tätigen Unternehmen:

  • Controlling
  • Projektmanagement
  • Personalwirtschaft
  • Marketing
  • Geschäftsentwicklung
  • Führung von Projektteams uvm.


Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt des IGC liegt in der Internationalität und Interkulturalität des Curriculums, der Studierenden und Lehrenden. Sie erwerben interkulturelle Kompetenz, die in Unternehmen und Organisationen zunehmend nachgefragt ist.

Internationale Absolventen können mit dem Job-Seeking Visa in Ruhe den nächsten Karriereschritt vorbereiten.

Vorteile

  • 2 Abschlüsse: MBA & Master
  • Fast Track Option: 2 Länder, 1 Jahr
  • Internationales Netzwerk
  • Deutschkurs (optional)
  • International Student Assistance (ISA)

Studienverlauf

Nach dem Grundstudium am IGC spezialisieren Sie sich an der ESSCA School of Management auf "International & Sustainable Management. Hier schreiben Sie im Anschluss Ihre Master's Thesis mit einem Thema der gewählten Spezialisierung.

Online Info Session am 15.02.2023

Studium in Bremen, Deutschland: Du hast Fragen? Wir geben die Antworten!

Anmeldung

Wir sind für Sie da!

Programmkoordination
Usanie Dennerlein
T: +49 421 5905-4456
E: usanie.dennerlein@hs-bremen.de

Multinational Financial Management

  • Internationale Finanzierungsstrategien
  • Analysemethoden

Das Modul stattet zukünftige Manager:innen mit einem konzeptionellen Grundgerüst für wesentliche internationale Finanzierungsstrategien aus. Damit Sie im späteren Berufsleben Geschäfte grenzübergreifend erfolgreich abwickeln können, stärkt der Kurs einerseits Ihre Analyse- als auch Ihre Entscheidungs-Kompetenzen.

 

Global Strategic Analysis

  • Entwicklung eines Business Plans

In diesem Modul lernen Sie, Ihren eigenen strategischen Geschäftsplan zu entwickeln. Dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Überprüfung effektiver Managementtechniken. Sie lernen zudem nützliche Methoden, die Ihnen im Job bei der Bewältigung globaler unternehmerischer Herausforderungen und der Optimierung von internationalen Geschäftsstrategien helfen.

 

Global Marketing Strategies

  • Entwicklung verschiedener Marketingkonzepte

In „Global Marketing Strategies“ werden Sie ausführliche Marketingkonzepte entwickeln, die auch auf internationaler Ebene erfolgreich mithalten können. Dabei stehen Themen wie globale Marketingleistungen, Risikoanalysen, Marktsegmentierungen und länderspezifische Unterschiede auf dem Plan.

Human Resource Management in the Global Environment

  • Personalmanagement

Dieses Modul gibt einen Überblick über die wesentlichen Praktiken des Human Resource Managements (HRM) im Zusammenhang mit internationalen Geschäften, standardisierten Managementpraktiken und organisatorischen Rahmenbedingungen. Auf diese Weise erlangen die Teilnehmenden ein Verständnis für die dynamischen Faktoren, die in internationalen HRM-Prozessen eine Rolle spielen.

 

Business Analytics

  • Datenanalyse

Dieses Modul führt Studierende in Business-Analytics-Konzepte ein, die zum Verständnis der aktuellen geschäftlichen Herausforderungen erforderlich sind. Die Analysetechniken helfen, die komplexen Herausforderungen der globalen Geschäftswelt zu bewerten und zu lösen.

International Leadership (optional)

  • Arbeiten Sie an Ihrem eigenen Führungsstil
  • Entdecken Sie Ihre Managementfähigkeiten

Im Mittelpunkt dieses optionalen Moduls steht das Thema Mitarbeiterführung. Sie lernen mit praktischen Übungen modernste Managementmethoden und Konzepte kennen. Hierbei geht es insbesondere um die Entwicklung Ihrer persönlichen Führungsqualitäten. Das erlangte Fachwissen und das praxiserprobte Handwerkszeug bereiten Sie ideal auf anspruchsvollen Aufgaben in einem wettbewerbsorientierten Geschäftsumfeld vor.

Energy und Ecological Economics

Dieses Modul befasst sich mit dem Kontext von Ökologie und Ökonomie. Untersucht wird das Funktionieren von Ökosystemen und damit verbundene ökologische Probleme wie Umweltverschmutzung und Klimawandel. In diesem Modul werden die wichtigsten ökonomischen Theorien und Konzepte behandelt, die der Umwelt- und Energiewirtschaft zugrunde liegen, einschließlich der Wohlfahrtstheorie und Theorien zur Industriestruktur. Sie erlernen Methoden zur Bewertung von Umweltgütern und untersuchen die Funktionsweisen verschiedener Energiemärkte. Dieses Modul befasst sich auf wissenschaftliche Weise mit der Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien und der Kernenergie sowie mit Fragen des Klimawandels.

Global and Sustainable Business and CSR

In diesem Modul analysieren Sie verschiedene nachhaltige Projekte, Geschäftsmodellstrategien und CSR-Praktiken. Studierende bekommen einen Überblick über Nachhaltigkeitstreiber, Risikomanagement bei Umwelt- und Sozialverträglichkeitsprüfung. Sie lernen, Nachhaltigkeit in ein Unternehmen zu integrieren, Lieferketten verantwortungsbewusst zu gestalten und Stakeholder in Entscheidungsprozesse zu involvieren. Dieses interdisziplinäre Modul konzentriert sich auf die Politik der Transformation zur Nachhaltigkeit. Wie können z. B. sozioökologische Theorien in wirksame Strategien und Praktiken für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung umgesetzt werden?

 

Sustainable Supply Chain and Quality Management

Dieses Modul besteht aus zwei Teilen. Teil 1, „Nachhaltiges Lieferkettenmanagement“, konzentriert sich auf die Einbeziehung von CSR-Prinzipien in Lieferkettenprozesse. Sie lernen, nachhaltige Strategien und Strategien für eine nachhaltige Beschaffung zu entwickeln, indem Sie Angebots- und Nachfragemangel der Schwellenländer berücksichtigen. Themen wie Risikomanagement und Lieferantenbeziehungen sowie eine grüne Logistik werden ebenfalls behandelt. Der zweite Teil, Qualitätsmanagement, ist transdisziplinär, da er alle erforderlichen Standards (ISO-Normen) und andere Praktiken, die in alle organisatorischen Aktivitäten einbezogen werden müssen, ausführlich behandelt.

Sustainable HRM and Marketing

Dieses Modul befasst sich mit dem Einfluss von Unternehmen auf die Gesellschaft. Sie lernen, wie man die Bedürfnisse von Stakeholdern wie Mitarbeitern und Kunden berücksichtigt und sich einen Ruf als auf Nachhaltigkeit ausgerichtetes Unternehmen erarbeitet. Im ersten Teil des Moduls werden die internen Beziehungen aus der Perspektive eines nachhaltigen Personalmanagements behandelt. Themen wie Wohlbefinden am Arbeitsplatz, Inklusion und Geschlechterfragen stehen im Mittelpunkt. Im zweiten Teil dieses Moduls zeigt Sustainable Marketing den Studenten, wie sie umwelt- und sozialverträgliche Praktiken, Produkte, Dienstleistungen, Marken und Werte fördern können. Sie verstehen und entwickeln nachhaltige Organisationsrichtlinien und -praktiken.

Global and Sustainable Finance

Dieses Modul gibt einen Überblick über die Rolle des Finanzmarktes und seiner Akteure bei der nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Es befasst sich mit Möglichkeiten zur Schaffung von Werten und finanziellen Vermögenswerten, die echten Wohlstand formen, um den langfristigen Bedürfnissen einer integrativen, umweltverträglichen Wirtschaft gerecht zu werden. Sie untersuchen auch Finanzinstrumente und -methoden, die der Entwicklung nachhaltiger Projekte und Initiativen, Umweltprodukte und -politiken dienen, mit dem Ziel, eine umweltfreundliche wirtschaftliche Transformation hin zu kohlenstoffarmen, nachhaltigen und integrativen Wegen zu fördern. Ziel ist es zu lernen, wie Teilnehmer der Finanzbranche Umwelt-, Sozial- und Governance-Faktoren (ESG) in ihre Geschäfts- oder Investitionsentscheidungen integrieren und wie nationale und internationale Institutionen zu Zielen des grünen Wandels beitragen können.

Thesis

Das Master-Thesis-Seminar behandelt Themen wie Standards im akademischen Schreiben, die  Funktion der Master-Thesis im Programmkontext, Ansätze, um eine geeignete Forschungsfrage für die Abschlussarbeit zu finden, strategische Fragen sowie Fragen zu persönlichen Zielen, Karriereplanung, Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen, Originalität des Themas, Herangehensweise an die Literaturrecherche, Fragen der Originalität der Literatur, Plagiatsregeln und das Schreiben einer Nachahmung. Während der Master-Thesis beteiligen sich die Studierenden an einer Forschung oder einem Fallstudienprojekt und verfassen die Abschlussarbeit.

Praktikum

Das Praktikum beinhaltet einen 20-wöchigen Praktikumsvertrag mit einem Unternehmen oder einer Organisation, das/die allgemein aus der Tourismus-Branche ist oder mit Aktivitäten in der Tourismus-Branche involviert ist.

Sprechzeiten der Programmkoordination und des International Student Assistance

Usanie Dennerlein, Programmkoordination

Christian Frank, International Student Assistance

Dr. Frank Giesa, Studiengangsleitung