Curriculum MBA in International Tourism Management

Course Content

Introduction

  • Introduction to tourism science
  • Practical application of knowledge

This module is an introduction to tourism science and theory at Masters level. Apart from the theory and science of tourism the module also focuses on practical knowledge and applications. Practical exercises and case studies are integrated in this part of the module.

 

Intercultural Management

  • Gain intercultural competence

Intercultural Management includes "Culture and Cross Cultural Management" where you will learn about the influence of culture in the workplace, concentrating on three levels of intercultural competence: intercultural sensitivity, enhancement of knowledge about other cultures and practical skill improvement.

Corporate Social Responsibility

  • Ethic
  • Sustainability
  • Human Resource Management

This module aims to provide you with subject-focused, methodological as well as key competencies. You are supposed to know and comprehend different viewpoints and opinions with regards to the main thematic foci ethics, sustainability and sustainable development. In “Human Resource Management”, you will be familiarised with the management of human resources in an international context.

Tourism Marketing

  • Best-practices of tourism marketing
  • Develop a marketing plan

You will acquire the competence to strategically evaluate the future shape and direction of tourism marketing; to explore key approaches and best-practices in this regard; and to study (with a research and practical orientation) the development and implementation of competitive strategic marketing plans.

Strategic Planning

  • Marketing research
  • Strategic management approaches

Strategic Planning includes marketing research that enables you to analyse data and apply statistical analyses and "Development and Implementation of Strategy" after what you will have a solid understanding of the most common strategic management approaches as well as their pros, cons, and limitations.

International Financial Management

  • Understand financial management
  • Manage risk

This module consists of two components: "Global Finance" and "International Accounting". Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to understand and deal with major issues in financial management of international corporations and to apply methods used to manage risk in global markets.

International Legal and Tax Framework

  • International business law
  • Tax systems in international business

After completion of this module, you will have gained essential knowledge in international business law and the practice of conclusion of contracts and conflict resolution in international commerce. You will have gained a profound insight into the tax systems and deepened knowledge about taxes most relevant to enterprises involved in international business. You will have also gained the ability to assess tax related advantages and disadvantages of different legal forms, corporate strategies and location factors.

International Project Management

  • Project organization in tourism
  • Process optimization of value chain

This module addresses fundamental principles of project management, its possible fields of application and its relevance for the process optimization of the value chain. Different approaches and instruments of project management and project team leadership are introduced before project organization, structuring and controlling are discussed in detail including demand in Tourism

Applied Project Management

  • Real case study

Applied Project Management comprises a real case study including individual reading and research, team work, class discussions, presentations, portfolio discussions of findings. Different approaches and instruments of project management, strategic planning and tourism management will be applied by you in this real tourism specific project.

Elective

You may choose out of different management classes:

  • Contemporary Issues in Tourism
  • International Politics and Relations in Tourism
  • Leadership Challenges
  • Applications of Business Strategies in E-Tourism and Tour Operation

Masterthesis

The Master Thesis Seminar covers standards in academic writing, the function of the Master Thesis within the programme context, approaches to find an adequate research question for the final thesis, strategic issues and questions regarding personal goals and career planning, cooperation with companies and business practice for writing the thesis, originality of the thesis topic, approach to literature research, literature originality issues and plagiarism rules, the writing a mock-thesis. Master Thesis involves the students in actually engaging in the research or case study project and writing and finalising the thesis paper.

The internship includes a 20-week internship work contract with a company or organisation involved in general or tourism business or activities.

Curriculum MBA in International Tourism Management

Übersicht der Module nach Semester

Studienablauf

Introduction

  • The Phenomenon of Tourism and its Systems
  • Tourism Economics and Industries

Sie erhalten eine Einführung in die Tourismuswissenschaft und -theorie auf Master-Niveau. Neben der Theorie und Wissenschaft des Tourismus konzentriert sich das Modul auch auf praktisches Wissen und dessen Anwendungen. Sie werden praktische Einführungsübungen und Fallstudien bearbeiten.

 

Intercultural Management

  • Culture and Crosscultural Management
  • Communication

Sie  lernen den Einfluss von Kultur am Arbeitsplatz kennen und konzentrieren sich auf drei Ebenen interkultureller Kompetenz: interkulturelle Sensibilität, Verbesserung des Wissens über andere Kulturen und praktische Optimierung der eigenen Fähigkeiten. 

Corporate Social Responsibility

  • Business Ethics / Sustainable Development
  • Human Resources and Diversity Management

Das Modul vermittelt Ihnen fachbezogene, methodische Fähigkeiten und Schlüsselkompetenzen. Sie sollen verschiedene Sichtweisen und Meinungen in Bezug auf die thematischen Schwerpunkte Ethik, Nachhaltigkeit und nachhaltige Entwicklung kennenlernen und verstehen. In Human Resource Management werden Sie mit Personalmanagement im internationalen Kontext vertraut gemacht.

Tourism Marketing

  • Specifics of Tourism Marketing
  • Marketing Operations

Sie lernen die zukünftige Form und Richtung des Tourismusmarketings strategisch zu bewerten. Sie erkunden auch die wichtigsten Ansätze und Best-Practices- Beispiele und beschäftigen sich mit der Entwicklung von wettbewerbsfähigen, strategischen Marketingplänen.

Strategic Planning

  • Marketing Research
  • Development and Implementation of Strategy

Beim Thema Marketing Research werden Sie Daten analysieren und statistische Analysen durchführen. Das Modul beinhaltet zudem das Thema "Development and Implementation of Strategy". Nach Beendigung des Moduls haben Sie ein solides Verständnis der gängigsten strategischen Managementansätze sowie ihrer Vor- und Nachteile, aber auch ihrer Einschränkungen.

International Financial Management

  • Global Finance
  • International Accounting

Sie beschäftigen sich in diesem Modul mit zwei Komponenten: "Global Finance" und "International Accounting". Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss dieses Kurses werden Sie in der Lage sein, wichtige Fragen des Finanzmanagements internationaler Unternehmen zu verstehen und Methoden zum Risikomanagement auf globalen Märkten anzuwenden.

International Legal and Tax Framework

  • International Business Law
  • International Taxation Systems

Sie erwerben grundlegende Kenntnisse im internationalen Wirtschaftsrecht und Vertragsabschluss und lernen Konfliktlösungsmöglichkeiten im internationalen Handel kennen. Sie bekommen zudem einen Einblick in verschiedene Steuersysteme und lernen die für Unternehmen im internationalen Geschäft relevanten Steuern kennen. So können Sie abschließend die steuerlichen Vor- und Nachteile verschiedener Rechtsformen, Unternehmensstrategien und Standortfaktoren gut beurteilen.

International Project Management

  • Project Management Concepts
  • Demand in Tourism

Dieses Modul beschäftigt sich mit grundlegenden Prinzipien des Projektmanagements, seinen möglichen Einsatzfeldern und seiner Relevanz für die Prozessoptimierung von Wertschöpfungsketten. Verschiedene Ansätze und Instrumente des Projektmanagements und der Projektteamführung werden vorgestellt, bevor die Projektorganisation, -strukturierung und -steuerung, einschließlich der Nachfrage im Tourismus, detailliert besprochen werden.

Applied Project Management

  • Field Research

Dieses Modul ist eine Fallstudie, die individuelle Lektüre, Recherche, Teamarbeit, Klassendiskussionen, Präsentationen und Portfolio-Diskussionen über Ergebnisse beinhaltet. Verschiedene Ansätze und Instrumente des Projektmanagements, der strategischen Planung und des Tourismusmanagements werden in diesem tourismusspezifischen Projekt angewendet.

Elective

  • Leadership Challenges
  • Contemporary Issues in Tourism
  • International Politics and Relations in Tourism
  • Applications of Business Strategies in E-Tourism and Tour Operation

Sie können aus unserem Management Seminarangebot einen Kurs wählen. Entweder Sie entscheiden sich für einen Kurs aus dem Bereich Allgemeines Management (erster Punkt oben) oder Sie wählen einen Kurs mit einem Schwerpunkt aus dem Bereich Toursimus Management. Die genauen Kursangebote finden Sie in den obigen Punkten wieder. 

Thesis

Das Master-Thesis-Seminar behandelt Themen wie Standards im akademischen Schreiben, die  Funktion der Master-Thesis im Programmkontext, Ansätze, um eine geeignete Forschungsfrage für die Abschlussarbeit zu finden, strategische Fragen sowie Fragen zu persönlichen Zielen, Karriereplanung, Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen, Originalität des Themas, Herangehensweise an die Literaturrecherche, Fragen der Originalität der Literatur, Plagiatsregeln und das Schreiben einer Nachahmung. Während der Master-Thesis beteiligen sich die Studierenden an einer Forschung oder einem Fallstudienprojekt und verfassen die Abschlussarbeit.

Das Praktikum beinhaltet einen 20-wöchigen Praktikumsvertrag mit einem Unternehmen oder einer Organisation, das/die allgemein aus der Tourismus-Branche ist oder mit Aktivitäten in der Tourismus-Branche involviert ist.