Master in European Studies

Your next step towards a career in European leadership

Course Content

Institutions, Policy-Making and Regions in the EU

  • European Integration and Multi-Level Governance
  • Challenges of EU Integration

You will learn about the EU institutions, policy making in EU and the role of the regions. You will understand the integration process, speak about power and democracy in the political system of the EU and discuss the diverse crises of the EU.  
 

 

EU Business Law

  • Intellectual Property Law
  • Non Discrimination in EU Labour Law
  • European Environmental Law

You will acquire an understanding of the contents and structure of the "aquis communautaire." You shall be enabled to work with EU law, using the principles and the basic techniques developed by the European Court of Justice in order to solve typical law cases in the field of EU business and administrative law. 

European Economic Integration

  • Competition Policy in the EU
  • Transisition Economies
  • Current Economic Affairs in the EU

You will learn some basic facts and the essence of the economic integration theory and practice and understand the relevance of competition law and competition policy for the functioning of the single european market. You will also learn about the role of industrial, trade and environmental policy and understand the challenges for the transition of centrally planned economies to free markets and the developments in international trade.

Management of Funds

  • Regional Economics and Structural Funds in the EU
  • Management of Funds

In this seminar we will give an overview of EU funding programs, providing an introduction to regional economics and an overview of EU structural funds and their use. We will let you gain practical insight in European procedures as well as letting you being part of the Europe Week Bremen.

European Public and Private Management I

  • Intensive Seminar in Brussel
  • Communication in Practice
  • International Project Management

We will introduce you to the dynamics of the EU in Brussels, to the concepts of cross-cultural management and international team building and to different aspects of Germany and German life, economy and its history. Furthermore, public communication / PR and communication policy within the EU as well as project management basics will be explained in this seminar. 

The EU as a Global Player

  • External Relations, Trade and Development Policy
  • EU-US Relations
  • EU-Asia Relations

You will gain an overview of external relations, trade and development policy which will discuss the role of the EU in global affairs. You will also analyse its potential to use this role.

European Public and Private Management II

  • Expanding Your Business Across Borders
  • Marketing in the EU
  • Strategic Management in the EU
  • Human Resource Management
  • Starting Your Own Business
  • Career Planning

Master Thesis

At the end of the Master seminar you will be aware of topical issues and developments in current EU policy making which will help you to choose a suitable and manageable Master thesis topic. You should be able to plan and write a thesis, be aware of academic writing standards including non-plagiarism rules, and be able to do independent research. Emphasis is put on the value of original, critical thinking and individual and independent research. In the master thesis you will have to deal intensively with a research project or case study and put it in writing in the form of a scientific paper. You can attend an optional 22-week internship (also in combination with the master thesis) after completion of module 1-7. With a professionally relevant internship and a written scientific internship report (15-20 pages), you can obtain 30 ECTS credits.

Master European Studies

Übersicht der Module nach Semester

Studienablauf

Institutions, Policy-Making and Regions in the EU

  • Institutionen, politische Entscheidungen und Regionen in der EU
  • Theorien der europäischen Integration und der Multi-Level-Governance
  • Aktuelle Herausforderungen der EU-Integration

Sie lernen die EU-Institutionen, die Politikgestaltung in der EU und die Rolle der Regionen kennen. Sie werden den Integrationsprozess behandeln, über Macht und Demokratie im politischen System der EU sprechen und die verschiedenen Krisen der EU diskutieren. 

 

EU Business Law

  • EU-Wirtschaftsrecht I
  • Recht des geistigen Eigentums
  • Nichtdiskriminierung im EU-Arbeitsrecht
  • Europäisches Umweltrecht

Sie erwerben ein Verständnis für den Inhalt und die Struktur des "Aquis Communautaire" und lernen, mit dem EU-Recht zu arbeiten und dabei die Grundsätze des Europäischen Gerichtshof anzuwenden, um typische Rechtssachen in den Bereichen EU-Geschäfts und Verwaltungsrecht zu lösen.

European Economic Integration

  • Europäische Wirtschaftsintegration I
  • Wettbewerbspolitik in der EU
  • Schaffung einer dynamischen und wettbewerbsfähigen europäischen Wirtschaft
  • Ökonomien im Wandel
  • Aktuelle Wirtschaftsbeziehungen der EU

Sie lernen grundlegende Fakten und Bestandteile der Theorie und Praxis der wirtschaftlichen Integration kennen und beschäftigen sich mit der Relevanz des Wettbewerbsrechts und der Wettbewerbspolitik für den europäischen Binnenmarkte. Zudem geht es in diesem Modul um die Rolle der Industrie-, Handels- und Umweltpolitik und die Herausforderungen für den Übergang von zentralen Volkswirtschaften zu freien Märkten und die Entwicklungen im internationalen Handel.

Management of Funds

  • Regionalwirtschaft und Strukturfonds in der EU
  • Beantragung von Geldern in der EU
  • EU-Finanzierungsprogramme für Nicht-EU-Staaten
  • Projekt Europa-Woche

Wir verschaffen Ihnen einen Überblick über die EU-Finanzierungsprogramme, indem wir eine Einführung in die regionale Wirtschaft und einen Überblick über die EU-Strukturfonds und deren Verwendung geben. Außerdem können Sie einen praktischen Einblick in die europäischen Verfahren erhalten und Teil der Europa-Woche Bremen sein.

European Public and Private Management I

  • Intensivseminar in Brüssel
  • Kulturelle Implikationen von Business und internationalem Teambuilding
  • Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland in der EU: Geschichte, Politik, Kultur, Wirtschaft
  • Kommunikation in der Praxis
  • Internationales Projektmanagement
  • Deutschkurse

Wir stellen den Studierenden die Dynamik der EU in Brüssel, die Konzepte des interkulturellen Managements und des internationalen Teambuildings sowie verschiedene Aspekte über Deutschland und das deutsche Leben, die Wirtschaft und seine Geschichte vor. Darüber hinaus werden die öffentliche Kommunikation / PR- und Kommunikationspolitik in der EU und die Grundlagen des Projektmanagements erläutert.

The EU as a Global Player

  • Die EU als Global Player: Außenbeziehungen, Handels- und Entwicklungspolitik
  • Beziehungen zwischen der EU und den USA
  • Beziehungen zwischen der EU und Asien

Die Studierenden erhalten einen Überblick über Außenbeziehungen, Handel und Entwicklungspolitik, indem die Rolle der EU in globalen Angelegenheiten erörtert und ihr Potenzial für die Nutzung dieser Rolle analysiert wird.

European Public and Private Management II

  • Erweitern Sie Ihr Geschäft über Grenzen hinweg
  • Marketing in der EU
  • Strategisches Management in der EU
  • Personalmanagement
  • Starten Sie Ihr eigenes Unternehmen
  • Karriereplanung

Masterarbeit

Das Master-Thesis-Seminar bereitet die Studierenden auf die Master-Arbeit vor. Es beinhaltet die Standards wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens, die Funktion der Master-Arbeit im  Programmkontext, Methoden der Literaturrecherche und Regeln zur Verhinderung von Plagiaten. In der Master-Thesis setzen sich die Studierenden intensiv mit einer Forschung oder einer Fallstudie auseinander und verfassen dazu eine wissenschaftliche schriftliche Arbeit. Studierende können nach Abschluss der ersten 10 Module ein optionales 22-wöchiges Praktikum (auch in Kombination mit der Masterarbeit) absolvieren. Wenn es sich dabei um ein beruflich relevantes Praktikum handelt und ein schriftlicher wissenschaftlicher Praktikumsbericht (15-20 Seiten) verfasst wird, können die Studierenden damit 30 ECTS-Punkte erwerben.